top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Duncan

Get Out The Vote

Since I don't have a primary opponent, my focus until June 14th is to register voters around Laurens County. I've already started the habit of asking anyone I'm in one-on-one contact if they're registered. The County Elections Office provided me with mail-in voter registration/update forms so I can hand them to anyone that isn't currently a voter.

Lynne West from the County Election Office was very helpful when I filed, and she spoke to the recent Laurens County Democratic Party Meeting. There is quite a bit of concern about House Bill 4919 which passed the SC House unanimously. It mandates 2 weeks of excuse free early voting with multiple sites, and the current system only allows 30 days of in person absentee at the county office. But this mandate doesn't increase funding, which puts the county on the hook for all the extra costs. This bill does allow the local Election Boards to examine the exterior of the mail in ballots two days before the election. This will help make sure mail in votes will be counted on election day, and any votes rejected give the voters an opportunity to remedy the error.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I can't ask for money, and that's a problem.

https://youtu.be/ftESi1yx-70 If you're seeing this, it means you either got really curious about my campaign blog, or I sent the link to you directly. I'm supposed to be asking each person in my life

A Better Model for Senior Care

I recently received an email from a voter in District 14 asking if I would support expanding a particular program in Laurens County. I'd only ever heard of a PACE program that helped teachers get cert

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page